Equality and Diversity

The Association of Sign Language Interpreters’ Equality and Diversity Group, established in May 2020, worked incredibly hard during very difficult times to establish our Equality and Diversity Policy. We would like to thank all involved for their time, energy, commitment and to recognise that creating such documents can take a lot of courage when dealing with lived experiences.

ASLI’s Equality and Diversity Policy can be found here.

The current Equality and Diversity Group members are:

Selina Jacques
Ruth Peaker
Olivia Whitter
Rachel Wilkins
Layne Whittaker
Miles Harris
Shaunett Harris
Azaria Francis
Elizabeth Mooney
Robert Adam
Shannene Anderson
The Terms of Reference for the Equality and Diversity Group can be found here.

ASLI’s Complaint’s Procedure can be found here (coming soon).

ASLI’s Bullying and Harassment Policy can be found here (coming soon).

Resources and Organisations:

Interpreters of Colour Network (IOCN)

Equality and Human Rights Commission – guidance for membership organisations https://www.equalityhumanrights.com/en/advice-and-guidance/core-guidance-clubs-societies-and-associations

Equality Act 2010 https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2010/15/contents

Equality Advisory and Support Service http://www.equalityadvisoryservice.com/app/home

Citizens Advice Bureau https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/

NUBSLI https://nubsli.com/

ASLI Wellbeing Fund https://asli.org.uk/wellbeing-fund/

Deaf Interpreters Network https://asli.org.uk/deaf-interpreters-network/

Signs of God https://www.signsofgod.org.uk/

Muslim BSL Interpreters Network [email protected]

The Runnymede Trust https://www.runnymedetrust.org/

Stand Against Racism and Inequality https://www.sariweb.org.uk/

Race Equality First https://raceequalityfirst.org/

Disability Rights UK https://www.disabilityrightsuk.org/

Care for the Family https://www.careforthefamily.org.uk/

LGBT Foundation https://lgbt.foundation/

Galop http://www.galop.org.uk/

Stonewall https://www.stonewall.org.uk/

Age UK https://www.ageuk.org.uk/

Women’s Aid https://www.womensaid.org.uk/

The Fawcett Society https://www.fawcettsociety.org.uk/

Maternity Action https://maternityaction.org.uk/

ManKind https://www.mankind.org.uk/

A Band of Brothers https://abandofbrothers.org.uk/

Mind https://www.mind.org.uk/

Deaf Organisations and Community Groups:

Asian Deaf Women’s Association http://adwa.uk.tripod.com/ 

Black Deaf UK https://m.facebook.com/BlackDeafUK/

British Society for Mental Health and Deafness https://bsmhd.org.uk

Catholic Deaf Association https://catholicdeaf.org.uk 

Christian BSL https://christianbsl.com/

Deaf and Equal https://deafandequal.com/

Deaf and Hard of Hearing Women’s Group http://www.deafwomenealing.org.uk

Deaf Ethnic Women’s Association https://www.dewa.org.uk/

Deaf Hope http://www.deaf-hope.org

Deaf Parents UK http://www.deafparent.org.uk/links.php

Deaf Rainbow UK http://deaflgbtiqa.org.uk/

Deaf4Deaf https://www.deaf4deaf.com/

Deaf-initely Women https://www.deafinitelywomen.org.uk/

Jewish Deaf Association https://www.jdeaf.org.uk/

Muslim Deaf UK https://www.muslimdeaf.org/

ParaPride https://parapride.org

Radha Krishna Deaf Association https://www.bhaktivedantamanor.co.uk/home/?tag=radha-krishna-deaf-assocoiation

Sign Health https://signhealth.org.uk